Kappa Delta Pi

Kappa Delta Pi

Officers and Sponsors
From left to right—Gabby Trent, historian; Abby Jaggers, secretary; Prof. Thompson, co-sponsor; Chelsea Boyd, representative; Meghan Ramsey, vice president; Lisa Moore, president; Dr. DeVries, co-sponsor.

The Phi Tau Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi has been active again this school year.

On September 27, 2010, three undergraduates--Chelsea Boyd, Victoria Oakes, and Allison White--were initiated into the chapter. That evening the officers for 2010-2011 were installed. The officers are Lisa Moore, president; Meghan Ramsey, vice president; Abby Jaggers, secretary; Sandra Snively, Treasurer; Gabby Trent, historian; and Chelsea Boyd, representative. On December 11, 2010, ten graduate students--Jami Albee, Martin Andraszek, Leslie Burnett, Russell Carmichael, Jason Culler, Jay Fox, Joshua Fox, Jana Jean, Justin Michael, and Dawn Testa were initiated.

In addition to the two initiations, the Phi Tau Chapter hosted Mike Wimmer, an Oklahoma artist/illustrator, in September. Mike displayed and explained eight of his large paintings; talked about his illustrations in children’s books, his portraits that hang in the Oklahoma Capitol, and his commercial art work. He then took time to autograph his books. The entire campus was invited to this event.

On March 29, 2011, the Phi Tau Chapter will host Greg White, an Oklahoma illustrator for Tate Publishing. Greg is a graduate of Southern Nazarene. He will demonstrate how he uses technology to create his illustrations.

On April 7, the officers will host Brad Jones from the Kappa Delta Pi Headquarters. He will share ideas with the officers on how to prepare for Kappa Delta Pi Centennial and CONVO, which will be held in Indianapolis in the fall.

The chapter will have its third initiation ceremony for graduate on May 14, 2011. These initiates will be May graduates.

Mike Wimmer, Oklahoma artist/illustrator, discussing his works

Mike Wimmer and SNU Phi Tau Chapter president, Lisa Moore

Mike Wimmer signing books for SNU students, Chelsea Boyd and Abby Jaggers