SNU Chesapeake Scholars - recipients named

by Eunice Trent
May 19, 2006
Contact: Eunice Trent
Phone: 405.491.6600
Fax: 405.491.6381

On March 1, 2006 during a campus chapel, Chesapeake Energy Corporation made a presentation in donating $25,000 to Southern Nazarene University (SNU) to establish the Chesapeake Scholars’ Program.

“Chesapeake is pleased to make this investment in Southern Nazarene University through the Chesapeake Scholars Program. This gift is a continuation of our financial support program to state universities in our major operating area or those that historically provide the company with high performing graduates. Chesapeake shares a common goal with SNU to provide increased access to quality higher education and enhanced career opportunities for Oklahoma residents. We encourage students benefited by this scholarship program to establish careers in Oklahoma and join with us to strengthen the states economy” said Tom L. Ward, Chesapeake Chairman and Chief Operating Officer.

The donation provides undergraduate scholarship assistance to students who are Oklahoma natives or who attended high school in Oklahoma. The recipients of the scholarships are designated as Chesapeake Scholars.

The students that applied for the scholarship exhibited academic and leadership qualities determined by the SNU scholarship selection process. The recipients of the $25,000 Chesapeake contributions will receive payment of installments at $5,000 per year.
The five students are listed as follows:

J.C. Airington, El Reno, OK, Junior Marketing major
Lisa Bohannan, Altus, OK, Junior Math Education major
Rachel Janzen, Oklahoma City, OK, Junior Physical Education/Coaching major
Christopher Jones, Edmond, OK, Junior Business Administration major
Angela Bryant, Oklahoma City, OK, Junior Nursing major

Chesapeake Energy Corporation is headquartered in Oklahoma City, OK. For further information about Chesapeake Energy, visit or contact SNU’s Office of University Advancement @ 405.491.6311.