Women's Tennis Receives At-Large Bid to Nationals

(BETHANY,OK)---The 11th ranked Crimson Storm women’s tennis team has earned at at-large bid to the NAIA National Tournament set to begin on May 17th in Mobile, Alabama at the Mobile Tennis Center.

The Crimson Storm earns their second consecutive bid to the National Tournament. Last year, SNU advanced to the second round after defeating Georgia Southwestern 5-4 in the first round. Southern Nazarene would be defeated in the second round by eventual National Champion Northwood, Florida. SNU lost to Northwood 5-2.

The Crimson Storm has never advanced beyond the second round in National Tournament play. SNU has advanced past the first round two times, last year and in 2001.

SNU currently boasts the Nations 2nd-ranked singles player in sophomore Larikah Russell. Russell is currently 19-1 overall this season with her lone loss coming to #1 ranked Olga Hluschanka of Vanguard, California. SNU also sports the Nation’s #1 ranked doubles team in Russell and freshman Nikkita Fountain. Russell and Fountain are 19-1 on the season and is the top doubles tandem in America.

Below are the qualifiers for the National Tournament.

Host Berth – Spring Hill College (Ala.)

Automatic Qualifiers
Region I - Lewis-Clark State College (Idaho)
Region II - Point Loma Nazarene University (Calif.)
Region III / VII – College of St. Scholastica (Minn.)
Region IV – University of Sioux Falls (S.D.)
Region V – University of Illinois-Springfield
Region VI - Oklahoma Christian University
Region VIII - Indiana Wesleyan University
Region IX - Cedarville University (Ohio)
Region XI – Berry College (Ga.)
Region XII - Virginia Intermont College
Region XIII – Auburn University Montgomery (Ala.)
Region XIV - Northwood University (Fla.)

# 1 - Vanguard University (Calif.)
# 2 - Flagler College (Fla.)
# 3 – Azusa Pacific University (Calif.)
# 4 - Brenau University (Ga.)
# 5 - Embry-Riddle University (Fla.)
# 6 – Southern Nazarene University (Okla.)
# 7 - Shorter College (Ga.)
# 8 – Xavier University (La.)
# 9 – Lee University (Tenn.)
# 10 - Olivet Nazarene University (Ill.)
# 11 – Westmont College (Calif.)